Frozen Fever, Let It Go

Here I am, ended up writing about this one song that kept repeating playing in my head. Not because I really really like the song or repeatedly listened to this song through my earphone. But only because almost all my student are very attached to the film, FROZEN which cause them to repeatedly told me the story about Elsa and Anna also sang the famous original soundtrack, “Let It Go.”

Let It Go by Idina Menzel * I prefer her version than Demi Lovato version, sorry, no hurt feeling here *

During their play, they pretended as Ana or Elsa. During our conversation, they talked about Anna and Elsa. When painting, they painted Anna and Elsa. They drew Anna and Elsa. They made Olaf the snowman with the play dough and ended up told story about Anna and Elsa and the Snowman, well basically about Frozen. They made 3D art, such as castle or dress for Anna and Elsa.

And last but not least, they sang part of the “Let It Go” song, started by hummed the song, sang part of it while playing, sang the song on their-hand-made-stage, and sang almost the whole part of the song out loud with, off course, the movement Elsa shown while singing the song. And could you believe me,  it happened almost everyday since they watch Frozen in movie theater. So, I might said, they are really into Frozen fever.

Here is a video that really reminds me of my student while they sang this song. Yup, almost same just like this. So imagine you heard them singing like this each and everyday. As cutie as pie… cutest ever…

So, as their teacher, how can I don’t know about the song? How can’t I sang the song with them? How can I support and scaffold them if I don’t know about the song or the movie itself? From the moment one of them nicely said to me, “Miss, that is frozen song. Why you don’t know miss. I know the song.” Right at that moment, felt like a big stone bump into my head * too much reading manga and watching anime I guess, a little bit overreact then * I felt very challenged. I promised myself to dig all about Frozen. So, then I engaged with my computer and diligently ask uncle google and youtube 8 thanks God they are available in this era *

The very next day, I showed them that I finally catch them up with this Frozen things. I asked them about the story, how they recall the story. How they characterized the cast. How they recognize their character, starts from the size, gender, details on their dress, etc. Now, they even more eagerly to talk about it since they felt that their teacher finally understand what they are talking about. Furthermore, we sang along together * the “Let it Go” song * which trigger them to sang it even out loud.

Connie Talbot – Let It Go * really love this Cover version, actually, I always love Connie Talbot *

Here is the lyrics, Let us sang together…

The snow glows white on the mountain tonight
Not a footprint to be seen
A kingdom of isolation,
And it looks like I’m the Queen.

The wind is howling like this swirling storm inside
Couldn’t keep it in, heaven knows I tried

Don’t let them in, don’t let them see
Be the good girl you always have to be
Conceal, don’t feel, don’t let them know
Well, now they know

Let it go, let it go
Can’t hold it back anymore
Let it go, let it go
Turn away and slam the door

I don’t care
What they’re going to say
Let the storm rage on,
The cold never bothered me anyway

It’s funny how some distance
Makes everything seem small
And the fears that once controlled me
Can’t get to me at all

It’s time to see what I can do
To test the limits and break through
No right, no wrong, no rules for me
I’m free

Let it go, let it go
I am one with the wind and sky
Let it go, let it go
You’ll never see me cry

Here I stand
And here I’ll stay
Let the storm rage on

My power flurries through the air into the ground
My soul is spiraling in frozen fractals all around
And one thought crystallizes like an icy blast
I’m never going back,
The past is in the past

Let it go, let it go
When I’ll rise like the break of dawn
Let it go, let it go
That perfect girl is gone

Here I stand
In the light of day
Let the storm rage on,
The cold never bothered me anyway

And, through my research, I found other version of the song which is quite good and would love to share * wait, in the beginning of this writing, I think I said, I not really really like the song? hmmm… then why do I listened all these version, hmmm… *

Hyorin – Let It Go (Let It Go Korean version)

May J. – Ari No Mama No (Let It Go Japanese version)

Marsha Milan Londoh – Bebaskan (Let It Go Malay version)

Yao Beina – Sui Ta Ba (Let It Go Mandarin Chinese version)

La Reine des Neiges – “Libérée, délivrée” (Let It Go French version)

Gisela – Sueltalo (Let It Go Spanish version)

Serena Autieri – Let It Go (Let It Go Italian version)


Leave a Reply

