Welcome December

Here I am, embracing December with wide open arms. December is the last month of the year. The last month that everyone wishes to be the best one. The month where hope, reflection, and also love are rising above.

Personally, for me, December somehow make me turned into “mellow” mode on. Because in this last month, I reflect on what I already did in the last 11 month and also plan on what I will do in the next 11 month.  Usually, in the end of the month, I will cry myself in tears as much as I can, just in that one day. It was like relieving all the pain I had this year, while getting strength to live my life for the next year to come.

Here I am, being mellow. Listening to the song ‘My December” by Linkin Park. How can’t I be more mellow than right now. “this is my december… this is my time of the year…

Here I am, try to find out the meaning of December in any other case. In The language of flowers, December is identical to the flower called Narcissus, a flower that is in the family of Daffodil.

The meaning of the flower itself is ‘respect, modesty and faithfullness.’ And if we tracked back further, to the Victorian era, this flower sometimes used with meaning of “you are the only one or faithfull love”  * that is why I recall this month as month of love. * So, it is also considered one of the many flowers of love. It can also represent appreciation for another person’s beauty when given as a gift. Conversely, these flowers can be a sign of vanity, and can be sent as a warning to keep that vanity in check. In Chinese symbolism, the narcissus can represent the culmination of talent and hard work. In that light, these flowers might make an excellent gift to someone who is changing careers or pursuing their dreams * this is also why I recall December as month of hope. *

And… here I am, keep finding things related to December. How about birthstones? December had 2 birthstones, turquoise and zircon.

If cold December gave you birth,
The month of snow and ice and mirth,
Place on your hand a turquoise blue;
Success will bless whatever you do.

(source: http://blog.evesaddiction.com)

Turquoise is considered by some to be a symbol of good fortune and success, believed to bring prosperity to its wearer. while Zircon was regarded as the amulet for travelers in the Eleventh century, protecting them from disease, injury, and insomnia, as well as assuring a cordial welcome wherever their travels would take them.

Finally, here I am, done with my searching with anything to do with December. Whatever meaning behind this month, I am gratefully and warmly send my greeting, Welcome December…

Leave a Reply

