Old Soldiers Never Die, They Just Fade Away…

I’m  pretty sure that I’ve heard this quote long time ago. But, the way I feel about it back then, is very different from what I feel yesterday. Maybe because that day, October 5th, is the day where our National Army celebrated their 68th anniversary. Or maybe because when I read about it, again, I was in the place surrounded with soldiers and army atmosphere.

So suddenly, there is this unexplainable feeling running through all over me. A sad also proud feeling for our heroes and soldiers. For what they have done for my country and its people. For this comfortable life we live in today, for this secure and safe nation we all love. There won’t be enough thank you to say to you all.

So here is the poem wrote by The President of Indonesia, Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono (SBY), that lead me to the quote which previously said in the speech of General Douglas MacArthur, an American general during World War 2.

The Poem by Jenderal TNI (Purn) Dr. H. Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono. The 6th President of Indonesia during Brigif Linud 17 Anniversary, May 20, 2011.

Old Soldier Never Die
Kusimpan dalam pojok memorabilia
baret hijau yang menyimpan cerita
di medan latihan, di medan laga
di bukit-bukit terjal, di tebing-tebing
di Timor Timur, di Bosnia, di Amerika
dan tentu di belantara Indonesia
Baret hijauku, yang lekat diragaku,
dan dalam jiwaku
menembus gelombang laut di malam gulita
meloncat dari deru pesawat, melayang di udara
bersatu dalam heroisme prajurit-prajurit muda
yang tak kenal bahaya
karena itulah sumpahku pada negara
sepanjang masa
Aku sering rindu,
berlari bersama prajurit lintas udara, di lapangan hijau
dalam gegap gempita mars pasukan elit
bagai rajawali yang menukik
dan menyambar lawan dari langit biru
Meskipun masa-masa indah itu telah berlalu
bhakti kesatria sejati tak pernah henti
old soldiers never die; they just fade away…

And here are some of General Douglas MacArthur speech.

Mr. President, Mr. Speaker and distinguished members of the Congress:

I stand on this rostrum with a sense of deep humility and great pride – humility in the wake of those great architects of our history who have stood here before me, pride in the reflection that this home of legislative debate represents human liberty in the purest form yet devised.

I am closing my fifty-two years of military service. When I joined the army, even before the turn of the century, it was the fulfillment of all my boyish hopes and dreams.

The world has turned over many times since I took the oath on the plain at West Point, and the hopes and dreams have long since vanished, but I still remember the refrain of one of the most popular barracks ballads of that day which proclaimed most proudly that old soldiers never die; they just fade away.

And like the old soldier of that ballad, I now close my military career and just fade away, an old soldier who tried to do his duty as God gave him the light to see that duty. Good-by.


One thought on “Old Soldiers Never Die, They Just Fade Away…

  1. Pingback: Persoalan Utama Mengenai Kehilangan Pesawat #MH370

Leave a Reply

