A Simple Though About Korean Fever

background kdrama

Nowadays, Korean fever have influence people all over the world, including my own country, Indonesia. For me, Korean culture already touched my interest since I was teenager. But that day, the fever was not as big as now. As I recall, back then, I even hardly found friends who I can share about it. So, my interest back then, only kept for myself.

Although it’s understandable. I’ve grown up surrounded by Indonesian Culture * off course * and American culture with a little touch of Japanese Culture. Especially for music and fashion, I was so into American and Japanese. Mostly, I listen and watch American music and dramas, also anime (Japanese cartoon). Even the book I mostly read was Japanese comic known as manga.

As from my own country culture, I was infected by the music, Dangdut, and the traditional dance, such as Jaipong. Although all these was my late father doing.

He gave us freedom to enjoys others culture, but he always made us remember our own culture. He ‘forced’ us to watched lenong, wayang, or even dangdut performances. In return, he bought me cassettes or video of my favorite artist * such as, Michael Jackson, Bon Jovi etc * He ‘pushed’ me to learn Jaipong dance * which I thanks him back for pushing me for doing it *

He occasionally took us to someplace that has anything to do with Indonesian culture * for example, to the Museum, Taman Mini Indonesia Indah, gallery or Taman Ismail Marzuki * And sooo many more, that I couldn’t even remember. But, I guess, his efforts has paid back. I am, right now, not forget my own culture, and even more proud of it.

Ok, back to Korean fever. Now, everywhere, everytime, I could hear about Korean. Whether its music, fashion, dramas, movies, make up, accessories, artist, even its own country. Truthfully, I am so happy, since now I have many friends who I can share about it. And I think it is quite good, Since they also came from Asia continent. And now, we have more choices, not only  America or Europe.

For me, myself, I rather have positive attitude towards these new trends. I mean, we could learn something positive from it. If Korean can do it, why can’t we? Maybe one day, I could read someone writing about Indonesian fever. It is not something impossible, right. Anyway, If I like Korean culture, it doesn’t mean I’m so into Korean that I am no longer Indonesian. I may had a crush with Korean culture that sometimes reflected in my everyday life, but inside my heart, I am still, definitely, Indonesian.

And still hoping for Indonesia to be much better than other country, someday. So, since right now, Korean fever is all around the world, why don’t we get infected and join the fun ^^. Start by listen their music (click here to listen) and watched their awesome dramas (click here to find the drama you want), then join one of the forum (click here to join), and I’ll sure you’ll end up being infected soon. PEACE!

5 thoughts on “A Simple Though About Korean Fever

  1. Someone essentially help to make critically posts I’d state.
    This is the very first time I frequented your web
    page and thus far? I amazed with the analysis you
    made to create this particular submit extraordinary. Great


  2. Pingback: An Ongoing List of Korean Drama | my30uplife

  3. Pingback: nkotb25 Boyband Tak Terlupakan yang Mengguncang Hidupku | my30uplife

  4. Pingback: Hooked by The Heirs Original Soundtrack | my30uplife

Leave a Reply

